Home News 2023: Full List of APC Presidential Aspirants

2023: Full List of APC Presidential Aspirants

As the Tuesday date for collection of All Progressives Congress(APC) presidential form draws nearer, about 20 aspirants have obtained the form.

The number will grow with some of those who have indicated interest yet to pick the form.

Here is a list of those who have picked APC presidential forms:

1. Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu

2. Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello

3. Ebonyi Governor Dave Umahi

4. Senator Rochas Okorocha

5. Minister of State for Education Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba

6. Mrs. Uju Kennedy, the only female aspirant

7. Pastor Tunde Bakare

8. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo

9. Nicholas Felix

10. Ekiti Governor Kayode Fayemi

11. Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi

12. Former Senate President Ken Nnamani

13. Minister of Labour and Productivity Chris Ngige

14. Jigawa Governor Abubakar Badaru

15. Ex-Speaker Dimeji Bankole

16. Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor Godwin Emefiele

17. Senator Ajayi Boroffice

18. Senator Ibikunle Amosun

19. Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu

20. AfDB President, Akinwumi Adesina


After many months of speculations and intense consultations from various individuals and support groups, Bola Tinubu publicly announced his intention to contest the presidential election on the platform of APC after meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari on January 10.

Tinubu was the first individual to declare his ambition from the APC Party, which he described as “lifelong” dream.


Within 24 hrs after Bola Tinubu left Aso Rock after requesting Buhari’s “blessing”, David Umahi, the governor of Ebonyi, webt to the state house for his own anointment. The governor alleged that God told him to contest and that he was ready to replicate his efforts in Ebonyi state at the national level, especially in terms of building infrastructure.


Orji Kalu’s declaration was direct and straightforward; it came same week after Tinubu and Umahi’s declaration and there was no pilgrimage to Aso Rock. It was simply, “I will be very ready to face him [Tinubu] in Eagle Square, and I will get it.”


Rochas Okorocha announced his bid on January 31. During his formal declaration, he described himself as “Captain Rochas”, who is ready to be the “pilot for a better Nigeria”.


After months of “pleading” for support from support groups across the country, Yahaya Bello, governor of Kogi, on April 2, announced his intention to run for president on the platform of the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC.


Rotimi Amaechi, Buhari’s Minister of Transport, declared his intention to contest for the Presidential office on April 9 — just days after a gang of bandits attacked a train with over 300 passengers on board in Kaduna.


On the same day, Tunde Bakare, the overseer of The Citadel Global Community Church, formerly known as the Latter Rain Assembly, declared his presidential bid and unveiled ‘Project 16’ to Nigerians in the diaspora.


Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo also joined the race for the APC presidential ticket after long debates. He made his announcement via a live TV broadcast on April 11. Howbeit, his intentions and declaration has made the race though.


Chris Ngige, Buhari’s Minister of Labour and Employment, declared his presidential ambition on April 19 in front of a crowd at Alor in Idemili South LGA of Anambra state.


After the long debate, Ben Ayade, governor of Cross River, finally joined the race for the ruling party’s presidential berth in 2023.


Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Minister of State for Education, became a presidential candidate after he was presented with the APC’s N100 million expression of interest and nomination forms by a support group.


Ken Nnamani, former Senate President, declared his ambition on April 29 at a press conference held in Abuja. Announcing his intention, Nnamani said: “Nigeria needs to be reinvented to be a modern, democratic state.”


Kayode Fayemi, governor of Ekiti and chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF), finally announced his presidential bid on Wednesday, May 4 in Abuja.


Adams Oshiomhole, former governor of Edo, dropped his own gauntlet on the same day as Fayemi, announcing that he would also be vying for the presidential ticket of the party.


Also, on a Wednesday in Ikot Ekpene Stadium in Uyo, the Akwa Ibom capital, Godswill Akpabio, Minister of Niger Delta affairs, joined the long list of challengers for the APC presidential ticket.


Ibikunle Amosun, former Ogun state governor, entered the race on Thursday. The serving senator said he is in the race because Nigeria needs a “leadership that will galvanise our country to achieve our manifest destiny as the leading nation, not only in Africa but in the black world”.


Nicholas Felix, a US-based Nigerian pastor of the Miracle Church International, announced his entry into the race by procuring the N100 million presidential nomination and expression of interest forms on Thursday.


Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Science and Technology, finally joined the Presidential race on a Friday. While speaking at an event in Abuja, the minister described himself as a “man of great compassion”, including that if he gets the number one job in the land, his government would provide free treatment in public hospitals.


Uju Ohanenye became APC’s first female presidential aspirant after she acquired the nomination and expression of interest form on a Friday in Abuja.


Ahmed Yerima, former Zamfara state governor, declared his presidential bid after meeting with Buhari in Abuja. Yerima said he seeks “to fight insecurity, fight poverty and ignorance” if he emerge the next president.


Dimeji Bankole, a former speaker of the house of representatives, also bought the APC presidential expression of interest and nomination forms through through Aliyu Shinkafi, a former governor of Zamfara.